Podcasts and making information accessible

I usually spend about an hour and a half commuting to and from work. As much as I love reading, crowded trains and a walk either end mean it’s not the easiest way to spend a commute. Audiobooks are good, but there are free podcasts worth checking out. So far I’ve not really dipped my toe into educational podcasts, but I recently stumbled across a podcast series from the Institute of Historical Research which has been running since 2009.

With nearly 600 episodes there’s a lot to choose from, and they make it easy to narrow things down by splitting them into different time periods. Interestingly there’s a definite skew towards the 18th century and onwards. It looks like a good way of exploring new topics. I’ve been meaning to attend some of their seminars but never quite manage to find the time. I’m sure I’m not the only one, so having these recordings available is a good way to make information available in an easily accessible way.

There are 31 episodes on the Middles Ages, so I’ll be kept busy on my commute for a while yet.

Leave a Reply

